First impressions


This is one of the first photos that I took when I came to visit the place where I now live. It is the first thing I see when I peer out the kitchen window in the morning. I traded in a city view in Chicago for this. I would say it was a fair trade:

Barn at sunrise

And oh, this fine fellow came along with the my new view, or is it the other way round? No matter, I’ll take both!

TractorPete

And where the farmer goes, so goes his dog, Front Seat Bowzer; Barn Dog of barn dogs:

FrontSeatBowz

Someone asked me if it was an adjustment living here…I replied that it really wasn’t. But it really is. The nights are dark without the city lights to which I had grown accustomed, I had to learn how to drive all over again, and I still feel a little funny about walking through a steer pen full of manure. And I now have four pairs of ratty jeans set aside specifically for “farm work”. So yes, there are adjustments, but they are all positives, right down to the manure.

One thought on “First impressions

Leave a Reply

