In the workshop


There are a pair of doors here (original to the house) that have been lying around waiting for their moment to stand up and shine once again. After languishing in the garage for a while, their paint has recently been stripped and now I, the chosen one, get to rub them down with a good, couple layers of linseed oil before I can then proceed to stain them. After their hardware is restored, they will once again function as the doors they once were in the upstairs area. For now though, they hold court in the workshop where I do their bidding and diligently massage them with oil once a day.

Sometimes though, I wander from my duty. I walk away from the doors and play with Bowzer, climb the ladder to the loft, or poke around the old tools lying about. I like old tools. I don’t have to know what they are supposed to do, I just like to look at them. It should be no surprise then that we have an old 20-inch long, 50-60 lb. wrench hanging in our living room. Because I like how it looks. I know I get this tool-gazing love from hanging around my dad’s workshop when I was a kid. The workshop is its own world, a universe of sawdust, pegboards, wood and tools. It has its own sense of order (or disorder) arranged and defined by the occupant. I love seeing how tools are displayed and stored, and how years of wear, usage and love show in their appearance.

Pete’s workshop is no different…there are a variety of tools stored in a variety of ways. But there is one section of wrenches that I enjoy for its pure simplicity and function. The wrenches have been sectioned off through simple wood frames nailed directly on to the counter top, and over time have become vignettes in their own right though that was not Pete’s intention. He just wanted to be able to see them and reach for them quickly. But dust, grit and birds have added just the right touch to create a visual that I could never have styled on-set myself if I were to do a tool shot:

tools boxed 2

tools boxed couple

tools boxed with feather

It should be noted that Pete does not appreciate the birds’ contribution to his tool storage vignette. As you know, birds drop more than just feathers!

Leave a Reply

