Farm Flashback With Kodak


Having grown up in New York not on a farm, it feels like I have little to no previous connection to such a lifestyle. But I am slightly wrong in that assessment. It seems a couple generations ago, my family was involved in farming here in Wisconsin. More recently than that, I have a dim recollection of once visiting a relative’s farm in Minnesota back when I was a kid. My memory is spotty of the visit but I do recall gathering eggs, exploring the property and trying to milk a cow. It wasn’t exactly a reconnection to my roots as much as it was a fun frolic in shabby, green pastures while on vacation visiting relatives. That must have been in the late 70s. And I’m sure I was a tween then, back before digital cameras and the word tween even existed. Instead I had my trusty little Kodak camera, the kind with the trapdoor in back and a flash cube plunked on its top. 3 cubes per package, 4 flashes per cube=12 shots per package. I recently came across a few of my circa 70s Kodak moments from the family farm. Whose family, what side of the family I still don’t know!! But I’m pretty sure we were related somehow unless dad got lost on the road trip and made something up on the fly.

It’s interesting to look back on those photos and see things in a different light after all these years. ie: I can now recognize the barn roof as being a Dutch Gambrel. Secondly, the barn siding runs horizontally rather than the more common vertically-built barn sides. And finally, my dad looks quite young and fetching while sporting the striped jacket eponymous to the 70s. Doesn’t he frame well?!

FarmDad

At some point I handed over my camera to someone else so that I could pose with a somewhat out-of-its-element body form that happened to be in the farm yard. I loved that this body form was in an unexpected place outdoors. I’m wondering if that might have something to do with my present desire to obtain an old body form to put in my own sewing space;

FarmYardBodyForm

I’m pleased to note that I was still too young and far removed from the coming 80s to be rocking the big, bad, feathered hair-do. That came later and lasted briefly as bad fads do. There’s simply no room on a farm for a bad fad, but sometimes you just don’t see the insanity till many years later when you happen upon some of those old Kodak moments. And then you’ll want to burn them, but you can’t because it’s part of cultural history, provides a good laugh and a second guess at the present status quo.

4 thoughts on “Farm Flashback With Kodak

  1. I am so glad you had your kodak then and took pictures of the past. This was the time we went to Mn.
    and visited relatives. We visited My cousin Bobby’s farm, that is where some tried to milk the cow and gather
    eggs. And it soon became apparent these city cousins didn[t have a clue of what or how to do any farm chore.
    And no one would drink the milk! I thought that was pretty funny. Good job Micka.

  2. Such a cutie, Micka! I have seen that smile often. You write in a style combined of Vogue editorial and O magazine which makes these reads even more fun.

Leave a Reply

