Poking Around


What do you do on a snowy, winter day after a slightly hair-raising commute home? Oh I know…poke around in the barn. I thought that perhaps I’d ski a bit, or just tromp around in the snow. But Pete suggested that I climb up the ladder into the hay loft. I’m not sure why he suggested that, but it didn’t seem like such a bad idea. In fact, there is something entrancing about that barn when I’m in there all alone. I suppose it feels like walking into a cathedral of sorts. I’m sure I’ve said that before. I’ll probably say it again at some point.

After a bit of stomping around and making the floor boards creak, I climbed back down the ladder into the lower level of the barn which is a little less cathedral-like, but no less fun in which to poke about. I mean there is stuff down there. Unknown stuff, old stuff, stuff that Pete has forgotten about. Stuff that requires a closer look:

Old Chair Lower Barn

And then there’s the stuff that makes your skin crawl:

Feed Room Windows

And in my world of creepy-crawly, that would be spidery stuff. Now would be a good time to take a broom to all those cobwebs. Get that feed room cleaned up, get that door hung straight:

Feed Room Door

But I like a good challenge, so I’ll leave it for someone else!
(ha, just kidding, it’s on my invisible to-do list)

2 thoughts on “Poking Around

Leave a Reply

