Show Me the Cow Facts!


Our kitchen table is getting loaded up with a lot of print media these days. I’m seeing numerous holiday catalogues, life insurance pitches and quite a few of Pete’s farm journals and magazines. Believe it or not, I do comb through his farm journals for interesting ag articles. That way I can some day tell him how to run his business in case he doesn’t already know. Right. That will fly over well I’m sure. But hey, I mean HAY, that reminds me, it’s time for some Cow Facts!! Let’s get started (oh and by the way, some of the facts may be Wisconsin-centric, because I live in Wisconsin now and it has kind of adopted me as one of its own), Okay and onward;

1013 StareDown

• A cow is female. A lady as it were. An adult female bovine. Treat her with respect. Bring her flowers. And candy.

• A steer on the other hand, is a male. No bull here. He’s been castrated. Do not bring him flowers. He’ll be insulted. Though he is castrated, he is no girly girl. He is still big, burly and overly curious. He will sniff and chew anything within his immediate radius;

Helpful Steer

curious steer

• A bull is a male bovine who is all that. He’s intact. And boy you better not get in his way. According to OnWisconsin Winter 2013 magazine, because of his intactness, his job prospects are much better. uuuh, okay. Never knew that. Now I know why I’m seeing bulls with bling struttin’ up and down the road.

And now, for the Wisconsin-centric portion of our Cow Facts; 90% of the state’s milk is made into cheese! And 26% of America’s cheese comes from Wisconsin. Doink! I really didn’t know that before. That said, here is Wisconsin cheese in action, I present to you Pete’s Platter, a delicious concoction of locally sourced cheese. I’m not kidding, Pete suggested the local brewery add a cheese platter and they did. And named it after him. Good thing Pete himself is locally sourced or this may not have happened:

PetesPlatter

All right, let’s carry on:

Calves are young bovines of either sex and not yet weaned off of milk. Their day will come. Meanwhile their job is to grow, frolic about and look cute;

calf

• Cows have four stomach chambers: the Rumen, the Reticulum , Omasum and Abomasum. Digestion can be a very complex thing what with four chambers. Without getting into details, it can take 3 to 5 days for food to process through a cow’s intestinal “mansion”. And one of those “hallways” can be 170 feet in length.  I need to pace that out…because if it is what I think it is, I call for more cow nap time.

Steer Chow Down

That’s pretty much it, and now time for my evening snacky before hitting the hay…

CowLick_saturated

Good night!

7 thoughts on “Show Me the Cow Facts!

Leave a Reply

