And Sew It Goes


One Yard Wonders

It’s starting to happen. The collecting of the fabric I mean. It used to be that I would only buy fabric for a specific pattern with a specific yardage. That was before I started working at Nancy’s Notions. Now it’s like working in a candy store. I’m surprised at the restraint I’ve exhibited in the past year and almost a half that I’ve been there. As it goes though, restraint pretty much flew out the window during the annual Sewing Weekend event. This is when we all drop our regular day-to-day duties, and for 3 solid days devote ourselves to this annual sewing extravaganza. This is only my second year, and I’m still in awe of the effort and complexity that goes into this event. Space is cleared, vendors set up their wares, and merchandise is tagged and displayed in and around the warehouse.

fat quarter land

For the second year in a row, I’ve been assigned to work the fabric department. Thank you! That’s just inviting me to dip my sticky fingers in the candy jars. And get paid for it. But really my duties included bagging and tagging the cut yardage for our guests. But mostly, and most importantly, I sorted, organized and neatened up the rows and rows of one yard cuts and fat quarters. And I didn’t even know what a fat quarter was two years ago. I sure do now. I would walk up and around the bins, sorting, reorganizing and filing the cuts. And then start all over again. I kept thinking of Sisyphus rolling his boulder up the hill while I tidied up the fabric. Now I don’t want you to get the idea that I was doing this tucking and tidying all by myself. There were a number of us Sisyphean fabric people working the floor. Which is a very good thing. It’s lonely work surrounded by hordes of fabric-loving guests.

One Yard Cuts

While all this was going on though, I found my inner brain working at matching colors and patterns for my own ulterior motives. And then finally picking out one yard cuts that I might like to have. It became irresistible and made the whole process much more fun. But I found that once I picked one I couldn’t stop there very easily.

Purple and Black

Egads. I have started a stash. That is another term I never knew of before. A fabric stash. A grouping of fabrics just waiting for its time to come. And it will come. I don’t know for what or for when, but it’s my candy collection just started.

Teal Floral

I had to return to the Butler’s Pantry to clear an official space in anticipation of further stash development.

Chocolate Sprinkles

Pete, I am so sorry but the Butler’s Pantry is now mine. It’s best that you get on your tractor and leave it all behind.

Batik pink and brownOn the other hand, didn’t you say I needed more color?

3 thoughts on “And Sew It Goes

  1. Micka, as ever, you have an incredible eye for colors and matching designs. I loved the fabrics you grouped together, and I am envious of your fabric stash! Hope you are doing well. Jane

Leave a Reply

